Home Football CECAFA U23: Uganda Kobs, Eritrea in battle for 5th

CECAFA U23: Uganda Kobs, Eritrea in battle for 5th

The Kobs defeated DRC in their first classification game. (PHOTO/File)

Uganda vs Eritrea
Bahir Dar International Stadium
Wednesday, 28-07-2021 @2pm

The Uganda Kobs will take on Eritrea in their final game at the CECAFA U23 Challenge Cup in Ethiopia.

The two sides will be hoping to win the game and finish in 5th spot after frustrating group stage campaigns.

Uganda could only manage two points in group A which were good enough for just second place.

For Eritrea, they finished bottom of Group B with only one point from two games.

However, they both made amends in their first classification matches with Uganda taking care of DRC and Eritrea edging Ethiopia.

It has been a frustrating outing for Morley Byekwaso’s side as they failed to defend the title that the senior team won in Kampala two years ago.

The game against Eritrea will be a repeat of the 2019 final which saw Uganda come out on top and in the process, won the regional tournament for a record 15th time.

Ahead of the game, Byekwaso anticipates a tricky encounter but believes his side will get the job done.

“Eritrea is a good and strong team. We faced them in the U20 tournament in 2019 in Gulu and we drew 3-3. Said Byekwaso after the victory against DRC on Monday.

“They play good football just like the Ethiopians. They pass the ball around well but we will stick to our principles as we try to win the game to finish in a good position.”

The winner of the game will earn a 5th placed finish at the tournament while the loser ends up in 6th.

The final of the tournament will be between Tanzania and Burundi, the two sides who were victorious in their respective semi-finals against South Sudan and Kenya.

The Kobs team in Ethiopia


Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Saidi Keni (SC Villa), Dennis Otim (Express FC).


Enock Walusimbi (Express FC), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Kenneth Ssemakula (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Gavin Kizito ( SC Villa).


Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), , Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (KCCA FC), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).


Mukwala Stephen Dese (URA FC), Ivan Bogere (Wakiso Giants FC), Saddam Masereka (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA FC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here