Home Football KCCA FC out to defend CECAFA Kagame Cup

KCCA FC out to defend CECAFA Kagame Cup

KCCA FC hoisted the CECAFA Kagame Cup in 2019. Courtesy Photo

CECAFA Kagame Cup 2021:
Monday, 2nd August:
Azam FC vs KCCA FC
9 PM @Azam Sports Complex (Chamazi), Dar-es-salaam

Uganda Premier League (UPL) side Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) will start their CECAFA Kagame Cup defence today, Monday, 2nd August against Tanzanian side Azam FC in their tournament opener at Azam Sports Complex (Chamazi) in Dar-es-salaam.

The two sides are seeded in Group B which also has Burundi’s Messager Ngozi and Zanzibar’s KMKM.

The KCCA-Azam clash is a repeat of the 2019 final which the former won 1-0 at Stade de Kigali. The 2020 edition wasn’t held due to Covid-19 disruptions.

KCCA Head Coach Morley Byekwaso who recently signed a three year contract will manage his first game since formalizing his employment with the side. He is upbeat that his side will kick start the tournament on a winning note.

“If you want to achieve a lot in a tournament you have to win the first game. The first game is always very important and I think we are going to do our best to win it. Our boys are geared up,” Byekwaso told KCCA FC media.

“The way I have seen the team, they (players) are very fit and I believe the assistant coaches have been doing their best,” Byekwaso who has been away with the U-23 national side, Kobs added.

However, Byekwaso admits that it won’t be an easy walk in the park for his side as he predicts Azam who are eager to reclaim the trophy they won in 2018 to come out with blazing guns.

The other group in the tournament (Group A) has Uganda Premier League tittle holders Express FC, Young Africans (Tanzania), Atlabara (South Sudan) and guest club, Big Bullets from Malawi.

KCCA FC Contingent


Goalkeepers: Ali Mwirusi, Hassan Matovu

Defenders: John Revita, Brian Majwega, Samuel Kato, Jurua Hassan, Denis Iguma, Moses Aliro, Achai Herbert, Musa Ramathan, Peter Magambo

Midfielders: Yassar Mugerwa, Emmanuel Alex Wasswa, Ashraf Mugume, Samson Kigozi, Abubakar Gift Ali, Juma Balinya, Bright Anukani, Andrew Kawooya

Forwards: Charles Lwanga, Brian Kayanja, Brian Aheebwa, Samuel Ssenyonjo, Julius Poloto

Technical team:

Morley Byekwaso (Manager), Richard Malinga (Assistant Coach), Saka Mpiima (Assistant Coach), Moses Oloya (Goal Keepers Coach), Felix Ayobo (Fitness Coach) ,Ivan Ssewanyana (Team Doctor), Emma Tusuubira (Physiotherapist)

Other officials:

Michael Kirunga (Team Administrator), Moses Magero Mwanje (Public Relations Officer), Ivan Turyatunga (Media Officer)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here