Home Football Big Bullets vs Express: Red Eagles out to fly into semis

Big Bullets vs Express: Red Eagles out to fly into semis

Express FC players celebrate Eric Kambale's goal against Atlabara on Monday. (PHOTO/Express Media)

CECAFA Kagame Cup – Group A
Big Bullets FC vs Express FC
Benjamin Mkapa Stadium, Dar es Saalam
Wednesday, August 04 @4pm

Express FC will have a chance to seal a 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup semi final spot when they take on Malawian side Big Bullets FC on Wednesday.

Wasswa Bbosa’s side defeated Atlabara FC 1-0 on Monday to ensure they get their group A campaign off to the best possible start.

It was a great performance especially in the first half with Eric Kambale dispatching a penalty before Martin Kizza came close with a fierce drive that rattled the cross bar.

However, Abel Etrude was sent off mid-way the second half and the tide changed, forcing the reigning Uganda Premier League champions to sit deep and defend upto the end of the contest.

It was Express’s first game in over six week but now that they got some action into their leg, Bbosa thinks they are good to go.

“We have done our last training session ahead of tomorrow’s (Wednesday) game. I must say we have improved on our fitness which is a positive but also the boys know that a win seals a semi final berth so we are good to go.” The tactician said after their last training on Tuesday.

Express who are attempting to win the competition for the first time, will be without Etrude who starts his two-match suspension.

Goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa who made his debut on Monday is expected to continue in goal whiel Joseph Akwandwanaho, another summer signing, is once again likely to come off the bench like he did against Atlabara.

For Big Bullets, they are hoping to win their first game at this year’s tournament after drawing 1-1 with Young Africans FC on Monday.

The other group B game between Atlabara and Young Africans will be played at 7pm on Wednesday.

The Express FC squad in Dar 0es Saalam

Joel Mutakubwa
Denis Otim
Chrispus Kusiima

Enock Walusimbi
Denis Mubuya
Arthur Kigundu
Issa Lumu
Murushid Juuko

Abel Michael Etrude
Mahad Yaya Kakooza
John Byamukama
Daniel Shabene
Muzamiru Mutyaba
Charles Musiige
Ivan Mayanja

Martin Kizza
Godfrey Lwesibawa
Joseph Akandwanaho
Faisal Ssekyanzi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here