Home Cricket It’s a key tournament for us, says Masaba ahead of T20 Series

It’s a key tournament for us, says Masaba ahead of T20 Series

Cricket Cranes Captain Brian Masaba bowling at Kyambogo recently

Uganda Cricket Cranes will play host to Kenya and Nigeria in an ICC-sanctioned 13-match T20 Series set to bowloff on Thursday, 9th September at the Entebbe Oval. The tri-series will have ICC ranking points.

However, to start with, Uganda and Kenya will face off today, Tuesday, 7th September in the decider of the 3-match 50-over bi-lateral inaugural Derby Trophy series at the University Oval in Kyambogo, a finale that could set a good tone for the T20 tri-series with both sides having picked a win apiece in the past two games.

Uganda (yellow) and Kenya in action at the Derby Trophy bi-lateral series. The two sides face off today in a decider

With Cricket Cranes having two major tournaments coming up in the shape of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Africa Qualifiers in Kigali, Rwanda from October 14th to 23rd as well as the ICC Cricket World Challenge League B scheduled at a venue and date yet to be communicated, team Captain Brian Masaba says that the three-nation meet in Entebbe is key as they get revved up for future tournaments.

“It’s a key tournament for us,” Masaba said at the event’s launch on Monday at Entebbe Oval adding that; “this will help us prepare for the tournament in Kigali.”

Cricket Cranes Captain Brian Masaba (middle) is flanked by other individuals at the launch of the T20 Series

Nigeria and Kenya too will use the lakeside showpiece to prepare for their fast approaching engagements with the former in preparation for the ICC qualifiers in November while the latter will also be part of the qualifiers in Kigali.

With both teams having daunting tasks post the tri-series, Masaba believes that every nation will aim to bring out their best in order to be in good shape going forward.

“I expect it to be a very competitive tournament because there’s a lot at stake. Also, we know each other so expect great cricket,” Masaba who is charge of the side at home for the first time added.

Nigeria are fast improving as a cricket nation and got a taste of the big time at the T20 World Cup Qualifiers in UAE in 2019 therefore they are no push overs. They have shown intent with the hiring of 1996 World Cup winner Asanka Gurusinha from Sri Lanka.

Kenya were also part of the Global qualifiers in UAE in 2019 but they didnt give themselves a great deal of chance with their performances.

For Kenya, playing against Uganda is all about pride! Uganda is a team in transition and feel that the tide is changing in the region. The last time the two faced each other in a T20 match was in 2019 here in Kampala when Kenya broke Ugandan hearts with that one run win.

The games will all be played at the Entebbe Cricket Oval with a YouTube Stream available for the fans to follow. The tournament will have a World class stream provided by Dreamcatcher Sports that will be distributed globally.

The T20 Series that was launched on Monday will be used by participating teams to prepare for upcoming tournaments

The tournament partners include; PEPSI through their Nirvana water brand. Pepsi has given the organizers 200 cartoons of water. Roke Telkom is providing a dedicated connection at the cricket oval for organizers to be able to stream the game and Uganda Airlines is giving a return air ticket to Zanzibar for the series Most Valuable Player (MVP).

The Teams;

Uganda: 1. Brian Masaba (Captain), 2. Arnold Otwani, 3. Simon Ssesazi, 4. Saud Islam, 5. Ronak Patel, 6. Deus Muhumuza, 7. Riazat Ali Shah, 8. Frank Akankwasa, 9. Fred Achelam, 10. Dinesh Nakrani, 11. Kenneth Waiswa, 12. Charles Waiswa, 13. Henry Ssenyondo, 14. Gerald Mubiru, 15. Bilal Hassan, 16. Jonathan Ssebanja, 17. Harsh Panchal, 18. Richard Agamire.

Kenya; 1. Shem Ngoche, 2. Irfan Karim, 3. Nehemiah Ngoche, 4. Rushhabhvardhan Patel, 5. Nelson Odhiambo, 6. Gurdeep Bhagat, 7. Alex Auma, 8. Dominic Wesonga, 9. Eugene Odhiambo, 10. Elijah Asoyo, 11. Emmanuel Ringera, 12. Zahid Abbas, 13. Vraj Patel, 14. Lucas Ndandason, 15, Peter Langat, 16. Muhammad Kaylan, 17. Stephen Obuya, 18. Brian Likavu

Nigeria; 1. Joshua Ayannaike (Captain), 2. Chimezie Onwuzulike, 3. Daniel Ajekun 4. Samuel Mba, 5. Sesan Adedeji, 6. Vincent Adewoye, 7. Jimoh Abdulrahman, 8. Isaac Okpe, 9. Taiwo Mohammed, 10. Mustapha Yusuf, 11. Peter Aho, 12. Prosper Useni 13. Sylvester Okpe (Vice-Captain), 14. Odion Isesele, 15. Abdulrasheed Abolarin, 16. Segun Ogundipe, 17. Danladi Isaac, 18. Sulaimon Runsewe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here