Home Rugby National Rugby 7s Series returns this weekend

National Rugby 7s Series returns this weekend

Rhinos (yellow) in action against Warriors during the Jinja Circuit of the 2019 Rugby 7s Series.

Guinness Rugby 7s Series – 2021

1st Leg : 2nd & 3rd October @Legends

After about two years of no local Rugby Sevens competitions, the short format of the game finally returns this weekend (2nd & 3rd October) when the first leg/circuit of Guinness Rugby 7s Series – 2021 kicks off at Legends Grounds in Kampala.

The draws for the opening circuit, dubbed the Mileke Sevens were held on Tuesday at Kyadondo Rugby Club. There are four pools each consisting of four teams.

For this weekend’s circuit, title holders, Kobs who won the overall accolade in 2019 are seeded in Pool A alongside hosts Warriors. Rams and Jjengo (Mongers development side) are in the same pool.

Former champions (2018 winners)
Black Pirates are seeded in Pool B alongside their own development side Sailors. Impis and Jaguars are in the same pool.

After the pool games, the top two teams from each group will proceed to the quarter finals while the two bottom teams will compete in the Challenge Trophy.

Three of the six total circuits will be held outside Kampala, that is; Northern circuit slated for 9th October and hosted by Gulu Elephants at Gulu grounds, Eastern Circuit slated for 16th October and hosted by Soroti Rangers at Soroti grounds and the Western Circuit slated for 6th November at Kabale Stadium and hosted by Rams.

Mileke Sevens Pool draws

Pool A: Kobs, Warriors, Rams, Jjengo
Pool B: Black Pirates, Impis, Sailors, Jaguars
Pool C: Heathens, Jinja Hippos, Rhinos, Pacers
Pool D: Buffaloes, Mongers, Stallions, Rams 2

Guinness Rugby 7s Series – 2021 schedule.

1st Leg : 2nd & 3rd October           Warriors/Legends (Central Circuit)

2nd Leg: 9th October                     Gulu Elephants/ Gulu grounds (Northern Circuit)

3rd Leg: 16th October                   Soroti Rangers/ Soroti grounds (Eastern Circuit)

4th Leg: 30th&31st October          Black pirates/ King’s Park (Central Circuit)

5th Leg: 6th November                  Rams RFC/ Kabale Stadium (Western Circuit)

6th Leg: 13th&14th November      BSO/Legends (Central Circuit)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here