Home Rugby Guinness 7s: Kobs edge closer to title after winning in Soroti

Guinness 7s: Kobs edge closer to title after winning in Soroti

Kobs hoisted a third straight circuit title in Soroti

Saturday, 16th October 2021
Guinness 7s
Eastern Circuit @Soroti Stadium
Kobs 14-00 Heathens

Betway Kobs have edged closer to retaining the National Rugby Sevens Series after winning the Eastern Circuit of the Guinness 7s held on Saturday at Soroti Stadium. Kobs beat Heathens 14-00 in the final to win a third straight series circuit in all the (three) events held so far.

Adrian Kasito was the star for Kobs as his attempted charge past Heathens forced a penalty try in his side’s favor as Heathens ‘ Norbert Okeny was shown a yellow card to earn the title holders a one-man advantage for the remainder of the first half.

In the second half, Kasito would later convert his own try to put the game beyond reach for Heathens as his side picked a 14-00 win in a keenly watched final.

With just three events left to wind down the series, Kobs now lead the Guinness 7s table with 66 points, 11 ahead of second placed Black Pirates and 13 ahead of third placed Heathens.

Kobs are still unbeaten in the series as they dominated Group A that had Jinja Hippos, Mongers and Sailors. They later condemned Warriors to a 50-00 mauling in the quarters before beating Buffaloes 32-00 in the semis.

Albeit attaining a clean sweep in their group and achieving a comprehensive 36-00 win over Mongers in the quarters, Pirates who lost the previous two finals to Kobs were denied a chance to make amends when Heathens beat them 10-05 in the semis.

Kobs star Alhaji Manano was named circuit MVP pocketing Sh250,000 while Kobs claimed Sh500,000 for winning the circuit.

After the Eastern Circuit, the six round Guinness 7s will take a one weekend break. After the break, the fourth circuit (Rujumba 7s) will be played in the weekend of 30th and 31st October at Kings Park, Bweyogerere. It will be hosted by Black Pirates.

Guinness 7s – 2021 schedule.
*1st Leg : 2nd & 3rd October. Warriors/Legends (Central Circuit). Winners: Kobs
*2nd Leg: 9th October. Gulu Elephants/Gulu grounds (Northern Circuit). Winners: Kobs
*3rd Leg: 16th October. Soroti. Rangers/ Soroti Stadium (Eastern Circuit). Winners: Kobs
*4th Leg: 30th&31st October. Black pirates/ King’s Park (Central Circuit)
*5th Leg: 6th November. Rams RFC/ Kabale Stadium (Western Circuit)
*6th Leg: 13th&14th November. BSO/Legends (Central Circuit).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here