Home Golf Uganda Golf Open: Defending champion Chinhoi takes lead after the pro money...

Uganda Golf Open: Defending champion Chinhoi takes lead after the pro money cut

Robson Chinhoi attempts to draw lines on his mind at a previous event. Photo by T-Off Kenya.

Event: 2021 Tusker Malt Uganda Golf Open
Dates: 18th November – 4th December
Professionals Open: 1st – 4th December
Venue: Entebbe Club

Zimbabwean professional golfer Robson Chinhoi has taken a one stroke lead at the 2021 Tusker Malt Uganda Golf Open after the conclusion of the second round (money cut) on Thursday at Entebbe Club’s par-71 lakeside golf course.

After two rounds, Chinhoi who won the previous edition held at Uganda Golf Club now has 10 under par 132, but just one stroke better than day one leader Justus Mleader (Kenya) who’s now second.

Chinhoi who was tied for third with Kenya’s Jacob Okello off 3 under par 68 in the Thursday opening round shot a course record of 7 under par on day two to put himself in the right path to retain the championship, which is also a Safari Tour event.

Chinhoi who won the Vet Lab Safari Tour leg in October and had seven birdies and two eagles on Thursday admits that he had a good game in the second round.

“There is no doubt my game is good but I am human and capable of making some mistakes. I am extremely happy to jump to the top of the leaderboard,” Chinhoi told Nation Media.

33 players including two Ugandan amateurs, James Koto who managed 71 and 72 for 143 and Ibrahim Aliga who had 70 and 74 for 174 made the 4 over par cut for the final two rounds of the event. 11 Ugandan pros made the money cut.

Zimbabwean Visitor Mapawanya is third on the leaderboard off 6 over par 136 while 2018 winner Dismas Indiza (Kenya) is fourth with 4 over par 138, one stroke ahead of Uganda’s Philip Kasozi who is fifth.

UPGA Captain Deo Akope is tied for sixth with his fellow Ugandan Ronald Rugumayo with 2 under par 140 whilst their two country mates Joshua Seale and Silva Opio are tied for eighth off 1 under par 141.

Round three of the event will tee off on Friday at 7 a.m. It will wind down on Saturday and on that day the President’s Shield will also be played.

The leaderboard after two rounds
1. Robson Chinhoi (Zim) 68, 64= 132

2. Justus Madoya (Ken) 65, 68= 133

3. Visitor Mapwanya(Zim) 67, 69= 136

4. Dismas Indiza(Ken) 69, 69= 138

5. Philip Kasozi 69, 70= 139

T6. Ronald Rugumayo 72, 68= 140

T6. Deo Akope 72, 68= 140

T8. Joshua Seale 74, 67= 141

T8. Silva Opio 70, 71= 141.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here