Home Cricket Uganda’s squad for U-19 World Cup named

Uganda’s squad for U-19 World Cup named


Uganda Cricket Association (UCA)’s panel of National Selectors led by Nehal Bibodi has named its final squad of 15 players that will represent Uganda at the 2022 International Cricket Council (ICC) Under-19 Cricket World Cup in West Indies.

Uganda won the ICC U-19 World Cup Africa Qualifier last September in Kigali, Rwanda after overturning a huge Net Run Rate on the final day against Tanzania to earn a right to represent Africa as regional winners.

Uganda will be making her third appearance at the junior global showpiece following their debut in 2004 and subsequent showing at the 2006 editions in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka respectively.

The World Cup in West Indies will run from January 3rd to February 4th with Uganda in Group B alongside India, South Africa and Ireland.

There are no surprises in the final 15. All the 14 players who were part of the victorious side in Rwanda have made the squad, with off-spinning all-rounder Edwin Nuwagaba the only new addition. Nuwagaba is the young brother to Cricket Cranes batsman Zephaniah Arinaitwe. Pascal Murungi has maintained the captaincy mantle of this side with Ismail Munir also retaining the vice-captaincy role.

The squad has been preparing since November 1st under coach Ivan Thawithemwira and his assistant Robinson Turinawe. Thawithemwira is confident the boys will make Uganda proud in the West Indies.

“We have selected a well-balanced side that we are sure will deliver the results and make Ugandans proud. We have tried to be consistent with the selection to give more opportunity to the group we were with in Rwanda,” UCA said in a press release.

The team will leave for the Caribbean on New Years Day (January 1st). They’re expected to arrive in the West Indies on January 3rd and will play two warm up games against Sri Lanka and Scotland before they take on Ireland on January 15th in their first game followed by South Africa on January 17th and finish their group games against India on January 18th.

1.Pascal Murungi (Captain)
2. Munir Ismail (Vice-Captain)
3. Akram Nsubuga
4. Christopher Kidega
5. Pius Oloka
6. Joseph Baguma
7. Matthew Musinguzi
8. Ronald Omara
9. Cyrus Kakuru
10. Asaba Brian
11. Isaac Sanyu Ategeka
12. Ronald Opio
13. Ronald Lutaaya
14. Edwin Nuwagaba
15. Juma Miyagi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here