Home Cricket Strong finish sees Thunder hoist Ladies T20 Elite League title

Strong finish sees Thunder hoist Ladies T20 Elite League title

Thunder hoisted the Ladies T20 Elite League title over the weekend. Photo by John Batanudde

Franchise side Thunder Cricket Club on Sunday won the second edition of the Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) Ladies T20 Elite League after coming atop four sides in an event held in three days.

Coming into the final day of the tournament that was held in a round robin format, Thunder was bottom of the four-team table due to an inferior Net Run Rate (NRR) but they turned tables around to hoist the winner’s trophy at Lugogo Cricket Oval.

At Lugogo, Thunder took care of Northern Knight Warriors beating them twice in the Sunday double header.

Aziz Damani Hurricanes however lost to Titans in their final game at the University Oval in Kyambogo hence allowing Thunder to relieve them of the title.

Hurricanes had won the morning game with a super over but Titans managed to bounce back in the afternoon clash to win it by 31 runs and the spoils went to Thunder’s benefit.

At Lugogo, Thunder’s Captain Janet Mbabazi managed 52 runs off 43 not out as she led her side in the beating of Northern Knight Warriors in the final game. The side successfully erased the latter’s 96/4 in 17.3 overs.

Thunder Captain Janet Mbabazi in action on Sunday

“It’s a sweet victory for us,” Mbabazi said after the tournament adding that; “we played as a unit and everyone on the team made a contribution in one way or the other.”

Throughout the tournament, Thunder picked four wins from six outings, that’s two victories against Northern Knight Warriors and Titans. They however failed to pick a point against Aziz Damani Hurricanes after all the teams facing each other twice.

Thunder Cricket Club’s Squad.
1. Leona Babirye, 2. Mildred Anyipo, 3. Janet Mbabazi (Captain), 4. Jimia Muhammed, 5. Stephanie Nampiina, 6. Maria Nyende Kagoya, 7. Scovia Akello, 8. Jasmine Nabulya, 9. Eunice Kobusingye, 10. Christine Anayo, 11. Irene Alumo, 12. Natasha Amenyo, 13. Teddy Oyella. Coach Lawrence Ssempijja


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here