Home Football Police’s league recovery continues with win over Bright Stars

Police’s league recovery continues with win over Bright Stars

Police FC players wheel away in celebration on Wednesday. Police FC Photo

StarTimes Uganda Premier League
Wednesday Results
*Mbarara City 0-1 Gaddafi
*Police 5-0 Bright Stars

Police FC are continuing to improve in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League 2021/22 season after they picked a commanding 5-0 win over Bright Stars on Wednesday at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo.

It was Police’s third straight league win this season following a difficult start to the campaign.

Juma Balinya, Herman Wasswa, Eric Senjobe, Muwadda Mawejje and Emmanuel Mugume were on the score sheet for the Cops with the team now aiming to avert relegation threats that have been looming in the recent past.

Police gained the lead 12 minutes into play when Mawejje set up Balinya to slot home and eight minutes later, Muwadda doubled the side’s lead to earn the home side a 2-0 lead at half time.

However, in the 25th minute, Bright Stars had pulled one back but their skipper Nelson Senkatuka whose effort had struck the back of the net was caught offside. The captain continued to impress in the second half but was just unlucky.

However, in the 65th minute Police extended their lead further when Eric Senjonbe headed home Ruben Kimera’s well delivered corner.

Herman Wasswa scored Police’s fourth in the 74th minute whilst Emmanuel Mugume sealed the victory with a stoppage time goal.

The win takes Police to 12th on the table off three wins, three draws but seven losses whilst Bright Stars are 14th with seven points.

However, in the other match played on Wednesday, Gaddafi FC picked a 1-0 win away against Mbarara City.

Team’s starting XIs.

Police FC XI – Tom Ikara (GK), Eddy Kapampa, Eric Ssenjobe, Joseph Sentume, Missi Diego Semugera, George Kiryowa, Isaac Kiberu, Tonny Mawejje (C), Juma Balinya, Muwadda Mawejje, Arafat Kakonge

Bright Stars XI – Simon Tamale, Andrew Kaggwa, Simon Ssemayange, Allan Katwe, Derrick Ngobi, Andrew Kyambadde, Derrick Kiggundu, Marvin Youngman, Kazuto Kushida, Joseph Janjali, Nelson Senkatuka.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here