Home Golf Four all-female teams make it to Round One of Singleton Match Play...

Four all-female teams make it to Round One of Singleton Match Play Challenge

Sheila Kesiime (left) and Peace Kabasweka during their 2018 winning season. The pair have reunited for the 2022 staging. Courtesy Photo.

Four all-female teams are through to Round One of the Singleton Match Play Challenge Season 6 after the conclusion of this edition’s Qualifiers on Saturday at Entebbe Club’s par-71 lakeside golf course.

The qualifiers, played on stroke play format has four all-female teams as part of the 64 pairs (including one mixed pair and 58 all-male teams) that made the cut ahead of Round One slated for 12th February at the same venue.

2018 winning pair of Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime have reunited after sometime apart and are through to Round One of this year’s staging after shooting a combined 143 nett (73, 70) in the qualifiers that was dominated by all-male teams.

Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU) President Anne Abeja will in the mix at next month’s main event as her and her playing partner Jovia Tugume made the cut off a combined 144 nett. They shot 72 nett apiece.

The other all-female teams that made the cut are; Charity Tushabomwe/Victory Bagaya who had a combined 141 nett (66/75) and Sharon Musinenta/Lillian Koowe who returned a combined 144 nett after shooting 72 nett apiece.

The other two all-female teams missed the cut, that is; Dianah Nabukenya/Bridget Nakamoga and Wendy Angudeyo/Doreen Mwesigye. Other common faces failed to cross the red line as well and will now be playing as subsidiaries.

Lady golfers enjoy a podium moment during the 19th hole experience of the qualification round.

110 pairs (220 players) participated in the qualification round which was topped by an all-male team of Sean Kinsella/Dejan Stepanovic who had an impressive 129 nett (64, 65 nett).

From round one up to the final, the tournament will be played on match play format, not stroke play as it was in the qualification round.

Singleton Whiskey is the tournament lead sponsor. Its partners are; RwandAir, DSTV, NCBA, hTC and Riders Lounge Entebbe.

Singleton Match Play Challenge Past Winners:
2020: Innocent Nahabwe/Adoch Luwum
2019: Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye
2018: Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime
2017: Isaac Mariera/John Muchiri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here