Home Cricket Waiswa leads Aziz Damani to fourth straight Super Cup victory

Waiswa leads Aziz Damani to fourth straight Super Cup victory

Action between Aziz Damani and Ceylon Lions on Saturday. UCA Photo

UCA Super Cup 2022
*Aziz Damani CC: 191/4 (20.0/20 ov)
*Ceylon Lions CC: 94/6 (20.0/20 ov)
*Aziz Damani won by 97 runs

Kenneth Waiswa put up a man of the match display to help Aziz Damani Cricket Club hoist their fourth straight Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) Super Cup title after a 97 runs victory against Ceylon Lions CC on Saturday at Lugogo Cricket grounds.

Waiswa posted a match-high 62 runs off 30 balls, including nine boundaries (four 4s and five 6s) as Aziz Damani managed 191 for 4 in 20 overs against Ceylon Lions’ 94 for 6 in 20 overs.

Simon Ssesazi also put in a good shift for Aziz Damani as he managed 41 runs from 28 balls that comprised of five boundaries (three 4s and two 6s).

Roger Mukasa and Riazat Ali Shah were other top performers from the Aziz Damani side. They managed 35 and 32 runs respectively.

On their way to victory, Aziz Damani lost four wickets after Fred Achelam, Ssesazi, Mukasa and Riazat were picked out by Jonathan Ssebanja, David Wabwire, Ivan Baidhu and Hasith Dilhara.

However, Ceylon Lions’ chase was lead by Shazahd Kamal who managed 26 runs off 34 balls. He managed two boundaries (two 4s).

In a losing effort, Ceylon Lions’ Ruwan Jayaratne and Falak Shah had 17 runs each while Steven Wabwose and Hasith Dilhara had nine runs apiece. Eddie Agaba had eight runs two his name.

With Aziz Damani fielding precisely, Ceylon Lions lost six wickets after Falak, Deus Muhumuza, Agaba, Hasith, Ruwan and Shazahd were picked out by Henry Ssennyondo, Riazat Ali, Junaid Khan and veteran Frank Nsubuga.

The Super Cup is a curtain-raiser game between men’s Div. 1 winners (in this case Aziz Damani) and Div. 2 Winners (in this case Ceylon Lions) always played prior to the new season.

Aziz Damani were the last winners of the league in 2019 with Challengers finishing in second place while Tornado and Premier dropped down to Div. 2. Ceylon Lions and Wanderers Cricket Club finished 1st and 2nd respectively from Div. 2 earning themselves promotion to the top flight.

Still on Saturday, a prize giving ceremony for the 2019 league that has been pending for the last two years was held immediately after the Super Cup with the winning teams and individual players walking home with prizes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here