Home Volley Ball All Girls National Junior Volleyball Championship returns this weekend

All Girls National Junior Volleyball Championship returns this weekend

Youngsters in action in one of the previous editions. (Photo: David Isabirye/Kawowo Sports)

Event: 15th All Girls National Junior Volleyball Championship
Dates: 12-13 March 2022
Venue: Namugongo SS & Vocational School

The UVF All Girls National Junior Volleyball Championship will mark a return this weekend, serving off on Saturday, 12th March and winding down the next day (Sunday, 13th March) at Namugongo Secondary & Vocational School and Samaritan Primary School.

The 2021 edition wasn’t held due to Covid-19 disruptions so this year’s event will mark the tournament’s 15th edition. The inaugural staging was held in 2006 at Gayaza High School.

By press time, about 15 schools had confirmed participation, including defending champions Kinawa High School, record winners Trust High School (four trophies).

Hosts Namugongo Secondary and Vocational School, Iganga girls, Ndejje S.S, St. Mary’s High School, Zirobwe, Ubuntu Hill School, St. Peter’s SS Naalya, Hilton High School, Mariam high school, Katikamu SDA, Nabisunsa Girls and St Elizabeth Girls Mbarara will also be in the mix.

The objectives of the tournament include; to empower the girl child, expose them in volleyball, develop their skills (so as to prepare for them for competitions at national level), use tournament as a platform to get young players buseries from differenrnt schools since scouts are always present, show case and indentify talent for the junior national team, to revive and bring back the lost glory of the tournament and the like.

Top performers will be awarded with trophies, medals, certificates and other scholastic materials.

The tournament is organized by the Uganda Volleyball Federation (UVF) Schools Commission that is run by; Angiro Muhammed Napo (Head of Commission), Osiya Joshua (Head of Schools Commission), Odeke Vivian (Asst. Head Schools Commission), Kairungi Salma Otika (UVF 2nd Vice President and Supervisor UVF – Schools Commission).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here