Home Golf Two all-female teams through to round of 16 of Singleton Match Play...

Two all-female teams through to round of 16 of Singleton Match Play Challenge

Golfers pose for a photo moment during the 19th hole experience.

After the conclusion of the second round of the Singleton Match Play Challenge Season 6 held on on Saturday at Entebbe Club’s par-71 lakeside golf course, two all-female teams are part of the 16 teams that are through to the next stage (third round) of the competition.

The next event (round three) of the tournament will be played on 16th April (Holy Saturday) at the same venue.

The successful all-female teams who made it to the round of 16 (third round) from the round of 32 (second round) over the weekend are the 2018 winning pair of Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime and Patricia Nakasi/Bernadette Musanabera.

Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime beat an all-male team of Ernest Rukundo and Ancel Tumwesigye 1 up whilst Patricia Nakasi/Bernadette Musanabera beat a fellow all-female team in the shape of Tushabomwe/Victoria Bagaya 7/6.

Peace Kabasweka (middle) and Sheila Kesiime (right) are through to the next round of the tournament.

The other all-female team that exited the tournament is Sharon Musimenta/Lillian Koowe who lost 1up to Colin Talemwa and Andrew Atuhaire.

The other eye-catching victory was when the Mbarara Sports Club pair of Charles and Edrea Kagombe (senior couple) beat a fellow mixed pair of Charles Kabunga and Bridget Basiima 1up.

“We feel good after this win. We started slowly and at some point our opponents were 3up. We held on and eventually won it in the 18th hole. We’re so excited for this win and having come this far there’s no turning back now,” the Kagombes said adding that they have now set their sight onto the final and the crown itself.

However, senior golfer Fred Kasumba and his golfing partner Patrick Kagoro didn’t break a sweat on the day as their opponent Godlive Nayebare and John Sekyanzi handed them a walkover to sail through the next stage of the showpieces.

Other matchups in the main event were exciting as well and it will be interesting to see which pairs will make it to the quarterfinals after the conclusion of the Easter holiday event.

In the subsidiary category, little known Darius Mugisha emerged winner in men’s Group C with 45 points, while Collins Balufa (42 points c/b) and Sam Kacungira (39 points) won men’s Group B and A respectively.

Darius Mugisha (left) receives a trophy and goodies from one of the sponsor representatives.

In the ladies groups Wendy Angudeyo emerged winner in Group A with 36 points whilst Ongol Dinah Acen topped Group B with 43 points on count back beating Moureen Okura.

John Byabagambi was seniors winner with 38 points.

In the side bets, Isaac Mariera won the men’s nearest to the pin gong while Victoria Bagaya won the ladies’. Vincent Asiimwe son the men’s longest drive prize while Meron Kyomuhisha won for the ladies.

Uganda Breweries Limited (UBL) through their Singleton Whiskey brand is the tournament lead sponsor. Its partners are; RwandAir, DSTV, NCBA, hTC and Riders Lounge Entebbe.

Singleton Match Play Challenge Past Winners:
2020: Innocent Nahabwe/Adoch Luwum
2019: Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye
2018: Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime
2017: Isaac Mariera/John Muchiri.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here