Home Golf Kesiime/Kabasweka look forward to Round 3 of Singleton Match Play Challenge

Kesiime/Kabasweka look forward to Round 3 of Singleton Match Play Challenge

Sheila Kesiime (right) and her golfing partner Peace Kabasweka (middle) at Entebbe Club golf course last weekend.

Sheila Kesiime and Peace Kabasweka are one the 16 pairs that will feature in Round 3 of the Singleton Match Play Challenge Season 6 after triumphing in the second round held a week ago at Entebbe Club’s par-71 lakeside golf course.

The 2018 winning pair who are the only all-female team to ever hoist the title beat an all-male team of Ernest Rukundo and Ancel Tumwesigye 1 up last time out and are looking forward to the next stage of the tournament.

For Kesiime, ahead of next round slated for 16th April (Holy Saturday) at the same venue, they will have to prepare adequately in order to make it to the quarter finals.

Sheila Kesiime.

“We are looking forward to the next round but more importantly we’re looking forward to more practices,” Kesiime said adding that; “I think it’s about playing each shot at a time. If you’re anxious you’ll just mess it up.”

In the next round, Kesiime/Kabasweka will be up against an all-male team of William Bizibu and Alex Kazenga and the former are one of the only two all-female teams left in the competition.

For Kabasweka, it’s hard to tell what will happen on competition day but they’ll have to prepare for it.

“Well, it depends,you know there is a big break and being a monthly event you can’t be sure how your game will be next month. So, we are to play each shot at a time,” Kabasweka noted.

Peace Kabasweka

Kesiime reflected they last weekend’s game was a tight one as they played against single handicappers “but we managed to hang in there. The birdies kept coming and for some reason it wasn’t about handicaps.

Uganda Breweries Limited (UBL) through their Singleton Whiskey brand is the tournament lead sponsor. Its partners are; RwandAir, DSTV, NCBA, hTC and Riders Lounge Entebbe.

Singleton Match Play Challenge Past Winners:
2020: Innocent Nahabwe/Adoch Luwum
2019: Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye
2018: Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime
2017: Isaac Mariera/John Muchiri.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here