Home Rugby Uganda’s squad for U-20 Barthés Trophy named

Uganda’s squad for U-20 Barthés Trophy named

Uganda's provisional squad training recently. URU Photo

Uganda Under 20 head coach Richard Lumu has named a 25-man squad for the Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy that will run from 9th to 17th April in Nairobi, Kenya.

80 players were called up for the maiden training session on 13th March, the squad was then trimmed to 40, 33, 29 and finally to 25 after respective drills across various turfs.

Uganda replaced Senegal in the upcoming continental rugby showpiece after the West African nation pulled out and the slot was given to the East African nation.

Uganda will join Kenya who are the title holders, Namibia, Madagascar, Tunisia, Zimbabwe, Cote d’Ivoire and Zambia.

This will be the first U-20 Barthés Trophy to be graced by eight teams. The previous editions have been having fewer teams involved.

Uganda U20 Traveling Squad:

1. Alexander Byaruhanga
2. Joel Hosea Nkonte
3. Louis Oboi
4. Emma Kiyaga
5. Alvin Rukundo

6. Derrick Sebidandi
7. Emiemu Edward
8. Herbert Champara

9. Winston Tumwebaze
10. Brian Wandera
11. Charles Ryan Mwadeghu

12. Jeremy B Thembo
13. Blaise Ochieng
14. Vani Joshua Adebua
15. Kevin Ampaire

16. Michael Kalyango
17. Robert Sentongo
18. Daniel Malcolm Okello

19. Hashim Kabogoza
20. Yasin Waswa
21. Emma Ochan

22. Steven Kalema
23. Edrine Lemeriga
24. Joseph Mwesigwa Kansiime
25. Opileni Hossana

1. Dennis Etuket – Team Manager
2. Patrick Omoding – Assistant Team Manager
3. Lumu Richard – Head Coach
4. Martial Tchumkam – Forwards/Assistant coach
5. Noah Kayongo – Physiotherapist
6. Musa Rajab – Team Doctor
7. Jude Rwakayanga – S&C Coach.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here