Home Football UPL: Vipers stretch lead with win over URA

UPL: Vipers stretch lead with win over URA

Action between Vipers (red and black) and URA on Tuesday. Sanyuka TV Photo

StarTimes Uganda Premier League
Tuesday 12th, April Results
*URA FC 0-3 Vipers SC
*Mbarara City 3-0 Police
*Busoga United 0-2 UPDF

Vipers SC have increased their credentials to win the 2021/22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League (UPL) title after beating rivals URA FC 0-3 on Tuesday at the Arena of Visions.

Victory over URA means that Vipers stretch their lead on top of the table to 55 points after 23 games, that is nine points ahead of second placed KCCA FC who shared spoils with Arua Hill SC on Monday at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo.

URA however remain third on the 16-team table with 43 points, 12 behind Vipers.

At the Arena of Visions, goals from skipper Halid Lwaliwa, Ceaser Manzoki and Yunus Sentamu helped Vipers claim victory with the season now its final bend.

After an impressive start, Vipers took the lead in the 27th minute through Lwaliwa after he capitalized on Bobosi Byaruhanga’s corner kick.

Manzoki later doubled his side’s lead from the penalty kick after Yunus Sentamu was fouled in the area by URA defender Hudu Mulikyi. He slotted home his 13th of the season as the visitors posted a two goal lead at half time.

In the 62nd minute, Sentamu put the game out of reach for the home side after he capitalized on Milton Karisa’s cross to score into an unmarked goal to earn the Venoms their third of the day.

Before and after then, URA made some attempts to pull one back but to no avail as Vipers backline bodies tightened the defence.

Both sides will play their next matches at Lugogo with Vipers taking on KCCA in a potential title decider on Saturday whilst URA will come up against Police FC on 22nd April.

Starting XIs.

URA FC – Nafian Alionzi GK, Hudu Mulikyi, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Derrick Ndahiro, Ashraf Mandela, Ivan Sserubiri, Vianne Ssekajugo, Kagimu Shafik, Saidi Kyeyune, Cromwell Rwothomio, Steven Dese Mukwala

Vipers SC- Fabien Mutombora GK, Halid Lwaliwa, Livingstone Mulondo, Disan Galiwango, Hilary Mukundane, Siraje Sentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Najib Yiga, Milton Karisa, Ceaser Manzoki, Yunus Sentamu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here