Home Rugby Uganda’s provisional squad for Elgon Cup, Rugby Africa Cup named

Uganda’s provisional squad for Elgon Cup, Rugby Africa Cup named

Ivan Magomu (with the ball) is Rugby Cranes Captain. Courtesy Photo

Uganda Rugby Union (URU) has named a provisional squad of 35 players for international engagements scheduled for July this year. The events are; the home and away fixtures of the Elgon Cup between Uganda and Kenya and the Rugby Africa Cup that will be held in France.

According to Uganda Rugby, it’s from the 35 players that the final Rugby Cranes squad(s) for the forthcoming tournaments will be picked from.

The Elgon Cup returns after a two-year hiatus caused by Covid-19 disruptions. Kenya won the previous edition held in 2019.

This year’s first leg of the Elgon Cup will be held on 23rd July 2022 in Kampala while Kenya will host the return leg on 30th July 2022.

The Rugby Africa Cup will be held in Marseilles and Aix-en-Provence, France from 1 July to 10 July 2022.

The participating teams at the Rugby Africa Cup are; Namibia, Burkina Faso, Uganda, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Côte d’Ivoire, Senegal and Algeria.

Uganda will face neighbors Kenya in the quarterfinals of the qualifiers while Namibia will come up against Burkina Faso, Zimbabwe meets Ivory Coast while Senegal will take on Algeria.

The tournament doubles as a qualifier for the Rugby World Cup 2023 that will be played in France. One team will qualify directly and will be seeded in Group A of the global showpiece against France, New Zealand, Italy and the Americas 1 qualifier.

The Runner-up at the tournament will have a chance to the final global Qualifiers of the World Cup.

Selected Players.

Akera Komaketch, Joseph Aredo, Arthur Mpande, Asuman Mugerwa, Aziku Robert, Tawfik Bagalana, Chissano Joachim, Emmanuel Ecodu, Emong Eliphaz, Paul Epilo, Thomas Gwokto, Juuko Jude, Kanyanya Ronald, Kato Reynolds, Khani Aziziz, Colin Kimbowa, Ivan Kirabo, Saul Kivumbi, Ivan Magomu (Captain), Manano Alhaji, James Mugisha, Jacob Ochen, Uhuru Charles, Timothy Odongo, Faragi Odugo, Pius Ogena, Okia Solomon, George Scott Olwuoch, Michael Otto, Joseph Oyet, Alema Ruhweza, Lawrence Ssebuliba, Santos Ssenteza, Wanyama Conrad and Philip Wokorach.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here