Home Football CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship: Uganda all but qualify for semis after beating...

CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship: Uganda all but qualify for semis after beating Djibouti


CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship 2022

Group A| Matchday Two, Friday, June 3rd

Uganda 5-0 Djibouti

Uganda overpowered past Djibouti to all but secure a place in the semi-finals of the ongoing CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

In a one-sided affair, Uganda registered a 5-0 win to remain top of Group A with six points from two games. The Crested Cranes defeated Rwanda in the opening game.

Defenders Aisha Nantongo and Margaret Namirimu scored in the opening stanza before Sandra Nabweteme, Fazila Ikwaput and substitute Phiona Nabbumba added a goal each after recess.

Coach George Lutalo made two changes from the team that started against Rwanda with Sandra Nabweteme and Lillian Mutuuzo starting ahead of Sumaya Komuntale and Shirazi Natasha.

Despite taking control of proceedings, Uganda lacked the much needed calmness in front of goal in a bid to take an early lead.

The breakthrough eventually came in the 17th minute with Nantongo powering home a header from a well delivered cross by Margaret Kunihira.

The defender rushed into the six-yard box and jumped high to node home to the delight of the fans.

Two minutes to the mandatory break, Namirimu fired from far and her low drive went past Djibouti goalkeeper Rokiatou Doumbia.

Uganda was more clinical in the second half and it took only 4 minutes for Nabweteme to stretch the lead, tapping home from close range.

Nabbumba who replaced Shamira Nalugya needed only seven minutes on the pitch to announce her arrival, striking from far to make it four before Ikwpaut put the icing on the cake.

Uganda will end Group A business on Sunday with a game against Burundi while Djibouti will on the same day face Rwanda.

Uganda Starting XI

Dasiy Nakaziro (GK), Asia Nakibuuka, Margaret Namirimu, Aisha Nantongo, Joan Nabirye, Margaret Kunihira, Shamira Nalugya, Fazila Ikwaput, Hasifah Nassuna, Sandra Nabweteme, Lilian Mutuuzo

Djibouti Starting XI

Rokiatou Doumbia, Neima Abdillahi Said, Nasteho Robleh Djama, Ilham Djama Douhour, Yousra Mohamed Awad, Rahma Moustapha Aden, Anab Hassan Daher, Kafia Abdourahman Arab, Lerman Abdou Skieh, Hibo Abdi Abdillahi, Ferouze Mohamed Issa

*Credit: FUFA website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here