Home Football AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda held by Niger

AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda held by Niger


TotalEnergies AFCON Qualifiers 2023
Matchday Two
Uganda 1-1 Niger

Uganda Cranes settled for a point against Niger on Wednesday at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende in the second game of Group F in the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers 2023.

Despite having a brilliant start and taking the lead in the first half, Uganda failed to hold onto the lead and eventually conceded a goal midway the second half.

Milton Karisa fired Uganda into the lead, two minutes before the break but the visitors fought back to salvage a point through Mahamadu Sabo.

Coach Milutin Sredojevic made three changes from the team that started against Algeria last week with Abdu Azizi Kayondo starting in left back position ahead of Isaac Muleme.

Fahad Bayo who didn’t travel to Algeria started upfront, while Bobosi Byaruhanga was selected ahead of Marvin Youngman and Allan Okello.

The first realistic chance of the game fell to Emmanuel Okwi in the tenth minute when he drifted off the left wing but his low drive was blocked.

Niger goalkeeper was forced to make two saves in quick succession, first denying Miya by tipping away Kayondo’s cross.

The shot stopper once again denied Miya when Bayo forced him into a mistake but he recovered to tame Miya’s effort.

The breakthrough came two minutes to the mandatory break when Karisa’s intended cross swerved into the back of the net.

In the second stanza, coach Micho called for changes, bringing on Kyambadde in place of Miya.

The other changes saw Okello replacing injured Karisa while Muhammad Shaban came on in place of Bayo in the 73rd minute.

Muleme also came on for Gavin Kizito Mugweri moments later.

The visitors found their equalizer 19 minutes to full-time when Sabo dazzled through Uganda’s backline before firing into the top right corner of goal.

The result means Uganda has a point in the opening two games. They will face Tanzania in a double header in the next window.

Uganda Cranes Starting XI
Charles Lukwago (GK), Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Abdu Azizi Kayondo, Bevis Mugabi, Halidi Lwaliwa, Khalid Aucho, Milton Karisa, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Fahad Bayo, Emmanuel Okwi, Farouk Miya

Unused Substitutes
Nafian Alionzi, Denis Otim, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Elvis Bwomono, Enock Walusimbi, Hakim Kiwanuka, Marvin Youngman, Martin Kizza.

*Credit: FUFA website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here