Home Golf Ndase, Akatuhurira win 2022 Singleton Match Play Challenge

Ndase, Akatuhurira win 2022 Singleton Match Play Challenge


Patrick Ndase and his golfing partner Philemon Akatuhurira were on Saturday, 9th July 2022 crowned the winners of Season 6 of the Singleton Match Play Challenge (main event) after the monthly event came to a close at Entebbe Club’s par-71 lakeside golf course.

Dubbed the ‘P Squad,’ Ndase and Akatuhurira beat an all-male team of Joram Tumwine and Julius Borore 1up to hoist the title that comes along with exciting prizes including a fully paid expense trip to the Dubai Desert Classic.

The 1up win was the longest round Ndase and Akatuhurira have played having won their previous games with some kind of ease right from January during the qualifying round.

“I tell you what, we were determined to break this game much earlier but our competitors were also determined to win it, they were not an easy pair but for us to finally win on the 17th hole was such a sweet moment,” Ndase told media in a post match interview at the 18th hole.

Patrick Ndase (right) and Philemon Akatuhurira. (Photo: Courtesy)

Akatuhurira revealed that their game plan was to finish off their opponents with many holes to play but the rivals were a hard nut to crack.

“That has always been our strategy and before today the furthest hole we had ever reached was the 16th hole,” Akatuhurira said adding that; “this shows that it wasn’t by mistake that either of us reached the final, we were all up for the challenge but we thank God that by hole 17 we won and here we are as champions.”

For Tumwine, he admits that the pair of Ndase/Akatuhurira were a formidable one but he and his playing partner Borore gave them a run for their money.

“They were strong but I think we also earned our respect against them. They were playing consistent golf especially Ndase, he was on form,” Tumwine said adding that focus now shifts to other local events.

For Borore, the seven-month long competition has given him a chance and challenge to improve on his game and maybe start doing better in other tournaments and possibly win something bigger in the near future.

Julius Borore and Joram Tumwine.

Meanwhile, in the professionals category, Silver Opio beat Ronald Rugumayo 1up to claim the biggest chunk of the UGX15M purse.

As usual, the subsidiary event was also held and podium finishers claimed goodies from tournament sponsors.

Uganda Breweries Limited (UBL) through their Singleton Whiskey brand is the tournament lead sponsor. Its partners are; RwandAir, DSTV, NCBA, hTC and Riders Lounge Entebbe.

Singleton Match Play Challenge Past Winners (main event):
2022: Philemon Akatuhurira/Patrick Ndase
2021: Wasn’t completed (Covid-19 Lockdown)
2020: Innocent Nahabwe/Adoch Luwum
2019: Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye
2018: Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime
2017: Isaac Mariera/John Muchiri.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here