Home Cricket Busoga College Mwiri win 19th Boy’s Schools Cricket Week title

Busoga College Mwiri win 19th Boy’s Schools Cricket Week title


Busoga College Mwiri are champions of the 2022 Boy’s Schools Cricket Week after triumphing over Nyakasura School in the final played on Wednesday at Jinja SSS.

The 12-team tournament ended with Busoga College Mwiri winning their 19th title. The final end of the tournament was cut short by rain after Mwiri had scored 126/9 in 15 overs in the 1st innings. Nyakasura had only batted for only one over when the heavens opened.

As per the playing conditions the options available included either bowling to stumps or tossing a coin to choose the winner. The only available option due to a wet field was tossing coin which Nyakasura School refused to take. Busoga College Mwiri were then declared the winners of the tournament as per tournament playing conditions.

Busoga College Mwiri defeated Jinja SSS by 7 wickets while Nyakasura defeated Kololo SSS by 37 runs in the morning semifinals.

Bat Ball awarded each individual winner with cricket gear and Tengi Styles rewarded the MVP of the tournament with a cash reward of 500k.

12 schools participated, that is;: Busoga College Mwiri, Nyakasura School, Ndejje SSS, Nyakasura School, Ntare School, Lord’s Meade, Teso College Aloet, Dehli Public School, Jinja SSS, Kololo SSS, Kilembe SSS and Makerere College.

Individual Award Winners

  1. Best Fielder – Baguma Joseph (Nyakasura School)
  2. Best Bowler – Joel Kakaire (Victoria High School)
  3. Best Wicket Keeper – Ahura Amos (Nyakasura School)
  4. Best Batsman – Fahad Mutagana (Busoga College Mwiri)
  5. MVP – Pius Oloka (Jinja SSS).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here